WeightandLeanonHim

Weightloss………a Christian journey, a Godly perspective.

Self Control…. August 17, 2011

Filed under: Christian Journey,Eating Better,Support,Weight Loss — kayveebee @ 9:33 am

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” (Galatians 5:22-23)

Let’s be honest. The main reason why many people are overweight is due to a lack of self control *raises hand in shame*. This is indeed a Christian journey for me. Because I am limiting my intake of food, I am realizing that I have to give myself a stopping point. This is such a feat, especially if there is another serving waiting on me to indulge.

While praying and asking God to give me the strength to start and continue this process He shared with me in meditation that I have to get to the root of the problem. My problem did not reside in a bumpy childhood (I think we all have had those). It did not stem from growing up in a single parent home, nor did it stem from emotional abuse from peers and feelings of insecurity. The root of my problem was self control. I could not seem to give myself boundaries with food. Why? Because it doesn’t talk back, and you can manipulate it. Food is not judgmental and it doesn’t show you it’s adverse affects immediately.

I want to encourage you today to take back your life and begin living in God’s way. He desires for us to have self control.  You can start by filling your day with things to do. Plant a garden, go for a walk, read a book, make a phone call to a relative, paint,  or start a new hobby.

We want to eat to live………not live to eat.

God Bless You,

KayVeeBee

 

One Response to “Self Control….”

  1. Carmen Says:

    Khalilah,
    This blog is truly inspirational and one in which I can totally identify. Keep up the great and God-inspired work.


Leave a Reply

